Delta Kappa Gamma Illinois State Organization


Achievement Award Committee

Trust yourself. Create the kind of self that you will be happy to live with all your life. Make the most of yourself by fanning the tiny, inner sparks of possibility into flames of achievement.

-Golda Meir


Sharon Vinson, Zeta Chapter

Receives the 2022 DKG Illinois State Achievement Award


The 2022 Lambda State Achievement Award was proudly presented to Sharon Vinson of Zeta Chapter at the ILSO convention. Sharon was recognized as a shining star in our society with the highest honor, and the most prestigious award that can be given in the Delta Kappa Gamma, Illinois State Organization. As a member for more than 50 years, Sharon has served as the ILSO Treasurer for sixteen years, and she has served as the treasurer for the Lambda State Foundation for Educational Studies as well. She has also been a presenter at Leadership and Technology workshops, and a trainer for state treasurers at Regional and International Conventions. She has been a DKG ILSO Ambassador, Creative Arts Retreat instructor and participant, and a Lambda State Newscaster proofreader. She has served on the Convention Planning Committee and enjoys being a Lambda State chorus member at the conventions.

Sharon has held the offices of President, Recording Secretary, Corresponding Secretary, and Treasurer in her chapter and has chaired many committees in her chapter as well. At the state level she has also served as a member of the Finance, Leadership Development, Planning, Communications, and Standing Rules Committees in addition to being the state treasurer.  Her giving heart is evident in her community involvement where she is active at her church and in the Winnebago County Regional Retired Teachers Association. Volunteering comes naturally to Sharon as she always says ‘yes’ when asked to give of her time and talents.

In the words of her chapter members, Sharon exemplifies the ideals of Delta Kappa Gamma, and it is evident that she values our purposes and sisterhood. We congratulate Sharon Vinson on receiving the 2022 Lambda State Achievement Award.



Nomination Form

This award is voted upon by the Executive Board and presented to an individual who has evidenced outstanding service to the state organization, has provided regional and international support, and has participated in professional and/or community activities that promote the purposes of Delta Kappa Gamma.

Resources for completing the
Nomination Form

All Award Recipients

Chapter Achievement Award

Chapters are encouraged to recognize special achievement at the chapter level by selecting and celebrating a special deserving member. The attached file offers ideas and possible criteria for chapters to use in selecting a Chapter Achievement Award recipient.

Joan Funk, Delta, Chair
Mary Jane Bauer, Delta Gamma
Judith Heckel, Gamma
Jacqui Kolar, Gamma Iota
Jessica Mikeworth, Alpha Upsilon
Juliet Minard, Beta Epsilon
Patricia Misener, Omicron
Rosemary Nell, Chi
Fran Plude, Beta Epsilon
Barb Purdy, Rho
Ursula Sihocky, Beta Kappa
Karen Zimmerman, Gamma Upsilon
Joan L. Rog, President, Beta Alpha


last update is September 17, 2022